You are not logged in. Sign In | Forgot Password?
Logo | Illinois Agrivultural Education

FFA is dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education..

The FFA Alumni Association supports and advocates for agricultural education and FFA through gifts of time, talent and financial resources..

The mission of the Illinois FFA Foundation is to provide financial support for the Illinois FFA. When you make a gift to the Illinois Foundation FFA, you are investing in the future of agriculture..

The Illinois Association of Vocation Agriculture Teachers (IAVAT) is a professional organization for agricultural teachers at all levels..

The Illinois Association of Community College Agriculture Instructors (IACCAI) is a statewide professional organization for postsecondary agriculture instructors. .

The Illinois Postsecondary Agricultural Student (PAS) Organization provides opportunities for individual growth, leadership and career preparation. .

The Illinois Farm Bureau & Affiliated Companies Youth Education in Agriculture program offers unique educational programs to Illinois youth in 4-H and FFA. .

The purpose of the Illinois Agriculture in the Classroom Program is to encourage educators to incorporate more information about the agriculture, food, and natural resources system into daily lessons..
/Ag-Ed Advocacy/About-FCAE

Facilitating Coordination in Agricultural Education (FCAE) is a state project administered through the Illinois State Board of Education that is tasked with improving and expanding agricultural education from pre-k through adult levels..

The Illinois Leadership Council for Agricultural Education (ILCAE) is a voluntary, grassroots agricultural industry group focused on the expansion and improvement of Agricultural Education programs at all levels..

The Illinois Committee for Agricultural Education (ICAE) is a 13-member committee established by legislation and appointed by the Governor to advise both the governor and state education agencies concerning Agricultural Education K-adult..

The Illinois State Board of Education is the state agency responsible for Pre-K through 12th grade education. Its primary mission is state program leadership, planning, approval, funding, and evaluation..

The Illinois Department of Agriculture will be an advocate for Illinois' agricultural industry and provide the necessary regulatory functions to benefit consumers, agricultural industry, and our natural resources.. provides information about the Agricultural Education profession and encourages students to consider a career as an agriculture teacher..

MyCAERT provides teachers with an integrated online system to Plan, Document, Deliver, and Assess Career and Technical Education instruction. .

Information Technology and Communication Services (ITCS) Instructional Materials provides agricultural education publications in a variety of formats. .

The Agricultural Experience Tracker is the premiere personalized online system for tracking experiences in agricultural education. .
FFA FFA Alumni IL FFA Foundation IAVAT IACCAI PAS IFB Youth Education IAITC FCAE ILCAE ICAE ISBE Illinois Department of Agriculture MyCAERT ITCS The AET

Listserv Messages

Casey Bolin
District 5 Program Advisor
Sections 21-25
1475 West Whittaker
Salem, IL 62881
Cell: (618) 780-0230
[email protected]
  Weekly Messages
Last 5 messages
all messages
Monthly Summary Report
Most Recent (7/31/2019)
All Reports

Results of FFA AgriScience Fair - District 5

Friday, March 09, 2018

*Sent to all contacts.

Thank you to the sponsor...
Phillip Kyle, Elevator Manager – Bunge SCF Grain at McLeansboro.

Nine schools participated: Cisne, DuQuoin, Edwards County, Fairfield, Freeburg, Mt. Vernon, Okawville, Sandoval, and Waterloo with 44 projects and 49 students.   See attachments.

Top 11 Projects (based on scoresheet and presentation)

1st – Griffin Range, Freeburg - Crop Yields

2nd – Kylee LaRue, Waterloo - Are Your Labels Lying to You?

3rd – Erin, Miller, Waterloo - From Bee to Balm: Are companies products really 100% beeswax or not?

4th - Sedona  Kolmer, Waterloo - People’s Perceptions and The Possibilities for Re-domestication of Quinoa’s Lost Cousin

5th – Macie Clark, Fairfield - Does Soil Temperature Effect Soybean Germination

6th – Bailey Lewis, Cisne - Berry Moldy

7th - Matthew Grab, Freeburg - Wood Burning

8th – Jenna Atteberry, Cisne - Vitamin C Titration

9th - Melanie  Jordan, Cisne - Bye Bye Bacteria

10th – Hannah Callahan, Cisne - The Power of Flour 2.0

11th – Lexi Locke, Cisne - Quality/Cost

Individual category winners-

-Animal Systems – Jonathan Timm and Sara Timm, Cisne – Feed More, Gain More?
-Environmental Services/Natural Resources Systems
     Matthew Grab, Freeburg – Wood Burning
-Food Products and Processing Systems
     Melanie Jordan, Cisne – Bye Bye Bacteria
     Jenna Attebury, Cisne – Vitamin C Titration
-Plant Systems – Macie Clark, Fairfield – Does Soil Temperature Affect            Soybean Germination
-Power, Structural and Technical Systems
     Austin Little, DuQuoin - Electrolyte Challenge: Orange Juice vs. Sports  Drink
-Social Systems – Sedona Kolmer, Waterloo - People’s Perceptions and           The Possibilities for Re-domestication of Quinoa’s Lost Cousin

The top 11 projects received cash awards of:  $50, $43, $33, $26, $22, 6-11 places $15/each. Ratings were:  Blue – 26, Red – 11, White – 7.   Each project received a $6 cash award and each student received a framed certificate.

This event was hosted at the Mt. Vernon High School in conjunction with the District 5 FFA Proficiency Awards Judging.  The quality of projects and competition by students were very good again this year.

Judges for this event were:
Phillip Kyle, Elevator Manager, Bunge SCF Grain, McLeansboro

Shannon Emmons, Grain Division: Inspect, Grade, Weigh, Bunge North America, McLeansboro

Amy Kolweier, Feed Ingredient Originator, The Maschhoffs, Carlyle

Maridy Tso, AITC Coordinator, Gallatin and Saline Counties

Susan Kleiboeker, AITC Coordinator, Clinton County

Melissa Lamczyk, AITC Coordinator, Franklin County

Meggan Hiestand, AITC Coordinator, Marion County

Kathy Craig, Ag Instructor, Rend Lake College, Ina

Tom Cotter, Retired Ag Teacher and Farmer, Thompsonville

Lee Hosselton, Owner / Operator, Contracting Services, Anonymous Flippers Inc., Clay City

Joe Prusacki, Director of National Operations Division, USDA-NASS

Jenny Krebel, Plant Growth Technician, Monsanto

Emily Schuchardt, Research Associate, Monsanto

Ashley Wetzler, Customer Operations Specialist, Monsanto

Thank you to the agriculture teachers/FFA Advisors for including agriscience fair projects part of your agriculture course requirements. Congratulations to all students participating. 

To be removed from this list, contact [email protected]
Attachments in this message
AGRISCIENCE FAIR results - 18.pdf
Yearly Results.xlsx